Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Update :)

So I have about an hour and a half of doing nothing until i get to eat lunch then go to Spanish so I figured I write a little update of whats been going on.

Last Wednesday I was able to go to a Latin club dance where I got to salsa/morenge. It was SO much fun! I missed my dancing partner though. Poor Matthew doesn't even get to go to the stake dances anymore. I bet he is ready to explode with all of his dancing energy all pressured inside of him. lol But yeah it would have been nice to have him there so we could show everyone how it was done. :P

On Friday I was also invited to go to Tongan club dance that was really fun as well. There were a lot more people there and they had more decorations and more food so.. yeah. lol There was one part that was kind of scarry though. I was just standing there minding my own business dancing when these two huge guys decide to bring me closer into the big blog that was in the middle of the dance floor. I was practically sucked into this group of crazy people jumping up and down. I couldn't move at all. There people touching me on every side of me. Then they decided to start pushing everyone around so I was being tossed and turned in the midst of the sea of people. After this happened for about a minute or so I end up being held in place by this random guy trying to hold me still so I wouldn't get hurt. Yeah.. it was pretty awkward. But I ended up escaping somehow.. lol

General Conference was amazing! I love listening to the words of all our Heavenly Father's apostles and most importantly His Prophet. I esspesially liked when our temple here in Laie was mentioned. I felt really special. :)

I'm loving my classes because it doesn't test my smarts, it tests my imagination and creativity. My photography and art classes are so awesome!! My spanish class on the other hand.. I like it, don't get me wrong, its just harder. lol But my tutor did tell me that I was her favorite out of all the people she tutored. That made me feel good about myself. :)

Work is getting so much better!! I love the people I work with and I'm always really excited to hang out with them at work. I really feel like I can be myself at work and it makes it very enjoyable. :)

I know this might sound funny and not nesessary but I'm on a diet. But before think anything you need to know that its not a hard core one. I'm only trying to stay away from the excess sugar like desserts. Sometimes it gets really hard when I work with a lot of really good desserts there at Luau.. I try to avoid that job. lol But the bad part is that they got a new dessert at work and I've really wanted to try it. They are only going to be there for this month so as soon as Octover 22 comes I'm going to try one of those new scones that have been tonting me for the last two weeks.

Along with the diet I have been working out every morning at 5:45. I don't know what it is about this place that makes me want to get back into shape. Maybe its all the good looking boys around here. :) But yeah, I ran 2 whole miles yesterday! WITHOUT stopping! Isn't that awesome!? Well, its awesome for me and I was very excited. It made me be in a really good mood the rest of the day. :)

I got a package yesterday!!! It was full of fun Halloween decorations from my mommy!! Thank you so much Mom!! I love you and hope your doing well at home! Anyway.. My roommate and I went a little crazy with the decorations.. a lot of it is actually out in the hallway on our hallway clipboard thing. A lot of the girl's love it and are very excited to have decorations out in the hallway. 

Well, I still have an hour left but a nap sounds pretty good right now so I'm going to go nap befoer I head on over to the cafeteria. :)

Have a GREAT day!

Thursday, September 30, 2010

Day off :)

So... I don't have work today. I'm pretty happy about it. I'm just not so sure what to do with myself. I have been working on homework all day but its been good. Drawing a picture is definitely homework I don't mind doing. I actually really enjoyed it. :) I also went to my spanish class and am really wishing I grew up learning spanish along with English. I really want to know the language I just don't feel like putting forth the effort to do so. Haha! But its okay. No pain, no gain right? :P

So for my photography class we have this text book that is crazy deep and I love it. I'm definitely going to keep it. The part I read yesterday was about the ways you can broaden your imagination and one way is to travel and see a variety of different art. So I have decided that I'm going to take my children to as many places as I can so they can have the biggest imagination as possible. You see, having a big imagination helps you be able to learn better and faster and contain the information better.

Okay, sorry but my roomie and I are going to go some bonding and then go play some dodgeball!! :D

Monday, September 27, 2010

First blog. : )

Hey everyone! This is my first blog ever so this might be a little interesting. I've never done this so I'm not quite sure how this thing works. So here I am.. just sitting my dorm room waiting for my art class to start. :) I guess I could start with explaining a little about myself huh? Yeah, that would be a good idea. lol so here we go.

My name is Jennifer Ruggles. I have two amazing older sisters and beyond incredible mom and dad. Oh, and two pretty cool bother-in-laws. :P I just moved away from home to go to college here at Brigham Young University Hawaii. I know what your thinking.. "HAWAII??!" Yeah, I can't even believe it myself. I've been here over two months and I still find it hard to realize I live here. Not that it doesn't feel like I live here I just feel like its all a dream. I absolutely LOVE it here and am so glad I figured out that this is the place Heavenly Father wanted me to be. Cause if not.. I would be freezing my bootie off in Idaho. :P

My classes this semester are pretty much amazing except for the homework and testing part of them. I've discovered that I love learning but I hate doing homework and taking tests. But whats unique about that? Most people are like that too. I have a Photography, Spanish, and Art class right now. Yeah.. I don't have many classes but I'm okay with that. That makes it easier to concentrate on my classes I do have and also gives me time to play. I mean seriously, I'm in Hawaii. Who wouldn't want to play around? :) But in November I'll start my New Testament class so not as much playing after that. :(

My major right now is Anthropology but I might end up changing it.. or adding to it. Cause I really want to do something in art. You see my dream would be to travel the world learning about different cultures and their art while also taking pictures of them. :) But.. thats a little far fetched right now. So I'm just going to have to wait and see where the fortunes of life take me.

I've discovered that life is like the waves of the ocean. Some are big and some are small. Some could send you on the ride of your life but others have the ability to crash right on top of you and toss you back and forth. Even though we know that there are various consequences we are never sure what kind of ride we are going to get until we are right there next to them. At that moment we have two choices.. 1) go for it and try and ride the wave (even with the knowlege that the wave could crash and you) 2) Duck underneath and wait for the next one. Each wave is the opportunities that come our way everyday. So since I don't know how to surf and I can't swim very well.. life's not going to be very easy. So to make it easier, I think I should learn how to surf. :P